2012 Girls Nation, Outstanding Citizens Announced

posted in: 2012 Session | 0

Two girls are selected from each Girls State program to attend Girls Nation, a national government training program. Dhruti Gopaluni of Houston (ALA Unit 560) and Neethi Nayak of RoundRock (ALA Unit 447) will represent Texas at Girls Nation in July. First alternate is Ali Flowers of Crosby (ALA Unit 658), and second alternate is Abigail Dickson of San Leon (ALA Unit 291). Girls Nation “senators” meet for a week in Washington, D.C., where they run for office, enact legislation and meet with Representatives and Senators.


Twelve citizens were chosen “Outstanding Citizens of 2012” by their peers. They are J.P. Montgomery (City A), Abigail Dickson (City B), Brittany Brenan (City C), Sabrina Galloway (City D), Ali Flowers (City E), Meeta Kanwar (City F), Whitney Carpenter (City G), Angelene Superable (City H), Stephanie Ding (City I), Anna Liu (City J), Mary Taylor Tillman (City K), Hannah Cleveland (City L).