2019 State Party Officials Elected

The Girls State program is entirely non-partisan, and the citizens operate with mock political parties. They elect precinct, county and state party officials and write their own party platform. 

On Tuesday June 18, the National and Federal parties held their annual conventions and elected their state party officials. Congratulations to these women!

For the Federal Party, Uzo Ogbanufe (City N) was elected as State Chair and Whitley Hoyland (City N) was elected State Vice Chair. The House Whip is Nikhita Sathish (City K) and the Senate Whip is Kirsten Padilla (City I).

From Left: Hoyland, Ogbanufe, Sathish, and Padilla.

In the National Party, Sadie Thibodeaux, (City B) was elected as State Chair and Celina Solis (City D) was elected State Vice Chair. The House Whip is Elise Nguyen (City I) and the Senate Whip is Ashlee Reed (City M).

From Left: Solis, Thibodeaux, Nguyen, and Reed.

Throughout the week, these ladies will inform citizens about their party’s platform, run the state general election and support bills in House and Senate which line up with party planks.

The start of the 75th Session

posted in: 2019 Session | 0

On June 16th, 604 brilliant and talented young women from all across the State of Texas gathered at Texas Lutheran University to start this year’s Bluebonnet Girls State session. After checking in to their Cities, citizens visited the Bill Room and met their Party Sponsors. They ended the evening with a lecture on local government by former citizen Stephanie McDonald, who is a graduate of Austin College and The University of Texas College of Communications. She is Chief of Staff for Central Health; the Travis County Healthcare District, and a member of ALA Unit 437. After the lecture, girls were able to speak and ask questions about proposed policies, warming them up for future empowering activities to come throughout the week.

The next morning was our opening ceremony where the 2019 citizens were introduced to the many talented volunteers that make up our Girls State staff. We were also joined by a few honored guests to help us mark the opening of the 75th session.

Thank you to Texas Lutheran University for hosting Texas Girls State for the past 50 years, and for President, Dr. Stuart Dorsey for welcoming us back. The citizens were also welcomed by the Honorable Don Kiel, Mayor of Seguin, and the current President of the American Legion Auxiliary, Department of Texas, Shay Kuehner. The week was off to a magnificent start, but the best is yet to come!

Texas Legislators Honor 75th Anniversary of Bluebonnet Girls State

posted in: 2019 Session | 0

A resolution was made on April 30 by Representative Israel and Senator Huffman in the Texas House and Senate, respectively, celebrating 75 years of the Texas Girls State program.

Each session of Girls State in recent years has hosted hundreds of young women and educated them on the rights and privileges of American citizenship. While the program has changed over the years, the core ideas have remained the same-Service, Inclusivity, Strength, Teamwork, Education, Resilience.

We’re excited to share these ideologies with a new group of amazing young women from all over Texas arriving for the 2019 session.

2017 State Officials Elected

posted in: 2017 Session | 0

2017 State Officials (l to r) Wunderlich, Lusk, Johnson, Nelson, Slaydon, Piña, Hernandez, Heinrich and Roman.


On Thursday, June 15th, Federal Party candidate Mikayla Slaydon was elected 2017 Bluebonnet Girls State Governor. Charis Nelson was elected Lieutenant Governor. Citizens of Bluebonnet Girls State also elected Ingrid Piña, Attorney General; Catherine Heinrich, Comptroller of Public Accounts; Mia Hernandez, Commissioner of General Land; Tara Wunderlich, Agricultural Commissioner; Holly Johnson, Railroad Commissioner; Logan Lusk, Presiding Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals; Ale Roman, Chief Justice, Supreme Court.

All elected officials will be officials will be sworn in at the Capitol in Austin, Texas.






51st State Elects Party Officials

posted in: 2017 Session | 0

2017 State Federal Party Officials are (l to r) Komal Karumuru, Andrea Mauri, Courtneylee Conroy and Deborah Tate

2017 State National Party Officials (l to r): Keely Wilson, Kirsten Hahn, Raychel Johnson and Annie Figeroa

Congratulations to the State Party Officials! The Girls State program is entirely non-partisan, and the citizens operate with mock political parties. They elect precinct, county and state party officials and write their own party platform. The National and Federal parties convened June 14, 2017, to pick their state party officials.

2017 Floor Leaders Announced

posted in: 2017 Session | 0

2017 Floor Leaders (l to r) Paolo, Young, Ahmed and LaFond

Floor Leaders for both the House and Senate have been chosen for the 2017 session. These ladies will be working closely with the Legislative staff and will be on the floor during House and Senate sessions to assist citizens with parliamentary procedure. For the National party, we have Sophia Paolo (Senate) and Maddie Young (House) and for the Federal party we have Nafisa Ahmed (House) and Julia LaFond (Senate).

Congratulations ladies!