2017 Girls Nation Delegates and Outstanding Citizens Announced

posted in: 2017 Session | 0


On Saturday, June 17th, Director Lori Swann announced that Isabella Randle and Nafisa Ahmed were selected to attend Girls Nation later this summer. Randle lives in Spring and was sponsored by American Legion Auxiliary Unit 127 Tomball. Ahmed lives in Cypress and was also sponsored by ALA Unit 127 Tomball. Ahmed served as Floor Leader for the Federal Party and also performed in the Girls State Talent Show. Randle was named Outstanding Citizen of City D.

First alternate is Ingrid Piña of Kingwood and second alternate is Erin Swearingen of Buda. Citizens of Bluebonnet Girls State elected Piña as the Attorney General. Swearingen performed in the talent show and was named Outstanding Citizen of City K. Congratulations to these four exceptional citizens.

Each city at Girls State selected an Outstanding Citizen, who were all recognized by Girls State Director Lori Swann on Saturday, June 17th. Outstanding Citizens are:
City A: Mia Hernandez; City B: Emily Gill; City C: Sierra Knight; City D: Isabella Randle; City E: Stassa Ousaklidis; City F: Ingrid Piña; City G: Alexis Walker; City H: Chloe Walser; City I: Emma Cagle; City J: Emily Alexander; City K: Erin Swearingen; City L: Deborah Tate; City M: Madeline Nichols-Russell; City N: Mikayla Slaydon

2017 State Officials Elected

posted in: 2017 Session | 0
2017 State Officials (l to r) Wunderlich, Lusk, Johnson, Nelson, Slaydon, Piña, Hernandez, Heinrich and Roman.


On Thursday, June 15th, Federal Party candidate Mikayla Slaydon was elected 2017 Bluebonnet Girls State Governor. Charis Nelson was elected Lieutenant Governor. Citizens of Bluebonnet Girls State also elected Ingrid Piña, Attorney General; Catherine Heinrich, Comptroller of Public Accounts; Mia Hernandez, Commissioner of General Land; Tara Wunderlich, Agricultural Commissioner; Holly Johnson, Railroad Commissioner; Logan Lusk, Presiding Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals; Ale Roman, Chief Justice, Supreme Court.

All elected officials will be officials will be sworn in at the Capitol in Austin, Texas.






51st State Elects Party Officials

posted in: 2017 Session | 0
2017 State Federal Party Officials are (l to r) Komal Karumuru, Andrea Mauri, Courtneylee Conroy and Deborah Tate
2017 State National Party Officials (l to r): Keely Wilson, Kirsten Hahn, Raychel Johnson and Annie Figeroa

Congratulations to the State Party Officials! The Girls State program is entirely non-partisan, and the citizens operate with mock political parties. They elect precinct, county and state party officials and write their own party platform. The National and Federal parties convened June 14, 2017, to pick their state party officials.

2017 Floor Leaders Announced

posted in: 2017 Session | 0
2017 Floor Leaders (l to r) Paolo, Young, Ahmed and LaFond

Floor Leaders for both the House and Senate have been chosen for the 2017 session. These ladies will be working closely with the Legislative staff and will be on the floor during House and Senate sessions to assist citizens with parliamentary procedure. For the National party, we have Sophia Paolo (Senate) and Maddie Young (House) and for the Federal party we have Nafisa Ahmed (House) and Julia LaFond (Senate).

Congratulations ladies!