2018 Girls Nation Delegates & Outstanding Citizens Announced

posted in: 2018 Session | 0
L to R: Alternate Shelenhamer, Alternate MacCrossan, GN Delegate Westheimer and GN Delegate Batiste

On Saturday, June 23rd, Director Lori Swann announced that Courtney Batiste and Christa Westheimer were selected to attend Girls Nation later this summer. Batiste lives in Bryan and was sponsored by American Legion Auxiliary Unit 159. Westheimer lives in Friendswood and was sponsored by ALA Unit 554.

First alternate is Helena MacCrossan of New Braunfels, ALA Unit 35 and second alternate is Abby Shelenhamer of Cypress, ALA Unit 127.  

Congratulations to these four exceptional citizens!

Fourteen citizens were chosen “Outstanding Citizens of 2018” by their fellow Girls State citizens. They are Jayme Mowery (City A), Maisey Martinez (City B), Kimberly Burns (City C), Serenity deLeon (City D), Clacey Core (City E), Emily Cole (City F), Sarah Reihm (City G), Helena MacCrossan (City H), Julia O’Connell (City I), Katie Turner (City J), Autumn Nicholas (City K), Macey Pace (City L). Leah Adams (City M) and Hannah Chavez (City N).

Thank you ladies and staff for another amazing session, and safe travels!

Congrats to City K!

posted in: 2018 Session | 0

City K won the coveted 2018 Bluebonnet Cup, which is awarded to the most active city at each session of Girls State.  Congratulations City K Kisses and Senior Counselor Alli Bittner and Junior Counselors Breely Peterson and Meara Patterson.

2018 State Officials Elected

posted in: 2018 Session | 0
L. to R.: Cruz, Fleming, MacCrossan, Chavez, Martinez, De Leon, Nicholas, Johnson and Mahmalji

On Thursday, June 21st, Federal Party candidate Maisey Martinez was elected 2018 Bluebonnet Girls State Governor. Hannah Chavez was elected Lieutenant Governor. Citizens of Bluebonnet Girls State also elected Serenity De Leon, Attorney General; Helena MacCrossan, Comptroller of Public Accounts; Autumn Nicholas, Commissioner of General Land; Riley M. Johnson, Agricultural Commissioner; Jorie Fleming, Railroad Commissioner; Logan Giovanna Cruz, Presiding Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals; Emily Mahmalji, Chief Justice, Supreme Court.

All elected officials will be sworn in at the Capitol in Austin, Texas.

Congrats to elected State Party Officials

posted in: 2018 Session | 0

Congratulations to the State Party Officials! The Girls State program is entirely non-partisan, and the citizens operate with mock political parties. They elect precinct, county and state party officials and write their own party platform. The National and Federal parties convened June 19, 2018, to pick their state party officials.

For the Federal Party, Rachel Casey (City L) was elected as State Chair and Nancy Lemus (City G) was elected State Vice Chair. The House Whip is Sarah Rider (City B) and the Senate Whip is Evelyn McGowan (City L).

From Left, McGowan, Casey, Lemus, & Rider.

For the National Party, Rin Chiang (City A) was elected as State Chair and Zoe Barnes (City F) was elected State Vice Chair. The House Whip is Grace Mathis (City N) and the Senate Whip is Tracy Hsia (City H).

From Left, Hsia, Chiang, Barnes, & Mathis.

Congratulations to all of these wonderful ladies!


2018 Session Floor Leaders Chosen

posted in: 2018 Session | 0

Floor Leaders for both the House and Senate have been chosen for the 2018 session. These ladies will be working closely with the Legislative staff and will be on the floor during House and Senate sessions to assist citizens with parliamentary procedure. For the National party, we have Cassidy Lee (House) and Jayme Mowery (Senate) and for the Federal party we have Shruthi Subramanium (House) and Emma Okruhlik (Senate).

Congratulations ladies!

Left, Shruthi Subramanium, Emma Okruhlik, Jayme Mowery, Cassidy Lee