2021 Registration Update

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

Texas Bluebonnet Girls State attendees are nominated, sponsored, and registered through their local American Legion Auxiliary unit or high school. There is not a centralized application process, and TBGS does not consider applications submitted directly from students. For more information about how to acquire a TBGS nomination and sponsorship, contact your school counselor or your local American Legion Auxiliary unit. 

Registration for ALA units opened on March 1st.  Texas high schools may register students directly beginning on March 15th.  If you need further information or you are an ALA unit or high school who needs information about the registration process, please email the Girls State Registrar at registrar@alatexas.org.

Please check back here for updates on the 2021 session.

2021 Session Update

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

The format for the 77th Session of Texas Bluebonnet Girls State will be virtual. The dates for the session are June 20th to June 25th. We look forward to another great session this year.

Texas Bluebonnet Girls State 2020

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

We had 521 participants for our 2020 session of ALA Texas Girls State which was held virtually from June 15–19, 2020.  Girls State citizens were divided into 19 cities led by experienced staff members.  The citizens had the opportunity to learn about city, county and state government through online educational content and then put that knowledge to work in their nightly virtual sessions.

In addition to educational materials, the online platform afforded the citizens the opportunity to hear messages to them from many elected officials including Senator John Cornyn; U.S. Congresswoman Sylvia Garcia; Railroad Commissioner Christie Craddick;  Court of Criminal Appeals Judge Michael Keasler; Texas Senators Carol Alvarado and Jane Nelson;  Texas Representatives Angie Button, Mary Gonzalez, Ana Hernandez and Donna Howard; Harris County Judge Lina Hidalgo and Amarillo Mayor Ginger Nelson.

We received very positive feedback from our participants, including:

  • “I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to participate this year and I will take the lessons I learned from Girls State with me for the rest of my life.”
  • “I loved it and thank you for taking the time to teach young girls about their government. Girls State has inspired me to make a change in my community!”
  • “Absolutely loved it, so inspiring! Thank y’all so much for everything, and I can’t wait to continue the mission of TBGS! I hope I have the opportunity to stay involved with Girls State and ALA :)”

Thanks to all of the ALA units who worked hard to register girls for the program despite many obstacles.  Due to the efforts of our amazing staff in creating a robust virtual program and efforts to register students, we were one of only eight states in the country to offer a Girls State program in 2020!

2019 State Party Officials Elected

The Girls State program is entirely non-partisan, and the citizens operate with mock political parties. They elect precinct, county and state party officials and write their own party platform. 

On Tuesday June 18, the National and Federal parties held their annual conventions and elected their state party officials. Congratulations to these women!

For the Federal Party, Uzo Ogbanufe (City N) was elected as State Chair and Whitley Hoyland (City N) was elected State Vice Chair. The House Whip is Nikhita Sathish (City K) and the Senate Whip is Kirsten Padilla (City I).

From Left: Hoyland, Ogbanufe, Sathish, and Padilla.

In the National Party, Sadie Thibodeaux, (City B) was elected as State Chair and Celina Solis (City D) was elected State Vice Chair. The House Whip is Elise Nguyen (City I) and the Senate Whip is Ashlee Reed (City M).

From Left: Solis, Thibodeaux, Nguyen, and Reed.

Throughout the week, these ladies will inform citizens about their party’s platform, run the state general election and support bills in House and Senate which line up with party planks.

Floor Leaders of the 75th Session Announced

posted in: 2019 Session, Uncategorized | 0
From left to right: Godinez, Debenport, Vicens and Raghuvanshi.

House and Senate Floor Leaders for the 2019 session were announced during the opening ceremony on June 17, 2019. These citizens will be working closely with GS Legislative Staff throughout the week and will be on the floor during every House and Senate session to assist citizens with parliamentary procedure. For the National Party Camila Vicens (City I) will serve in the Senate and Kristina Godinez (City H) will serve in the House. For the Federal Party Akshita Raghuvanshi (City F) will serve in the Senate and Margaret Debenport (City G) will serve in the House.

Congratulations to these young women-this session is going to be a special one!

Citizens Arrive

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

Girl’s State staff spent today, June 10th, welcoming new citizens onto the TLU campus. Citizens had the opportunity to learn about parties and official positions, get  a head start on writing bills, try out for our talent show, check out the gift shop, and meet her fellow citizens.